California Film & Television Production Alliance Statement on Successful Passage of AB 1839

California Film & Television Production Alliance

August 29, 2014

California (August 29, 2014) – The California Film & Television Production Alliance – a coalition of guilds, unions, producers, small businesses, studios, and associations that have worked together for more than a decade to promote, improve, and enhance film and television production in the State of California – today issued the following statement regarding the successful Senate and Assembly floor votes on Assembly Bill 1839 (Gatto/Bocanegra), The California Film and Television Job Retention and Promotion Act. 

“On behalf of hundreds of thousands of middle class California workers, creative talent, small businesses, vendors, local governments, film commissioners, theatre owners, and tourism, hotel and lodging associations – all across the state – we are elated by the successful votes on both the Senate and Assembly floors, securing the California Legislature’s  passage of AB 1839.  When we began this effort in the winter of 2013, with an ever-growing cascade of film and television production leaving California, there were many who told us that this would be a failed effort, that nothing could be done to bring back the thousands of jobs that had already left the State, and that the voice of the working men and women in our business could never overcome the glamourous stereotype of Hollywood. Today’s votes show they were wrong.

“First and foremost, we would not be standing where we are today without the unwavering dedication, leadership, and guidance of our two authors, Assemblymembers Gatto and Bocanegra, who stood with us every step of the way in support of thousands of working Californians who create films and television shows and want to remain valuable contributors to this great State. Our success, and our thanks, is also due to those in the Legislature who share our concerns and commitment including Assembly Speaker Toni Atkins, Senate President Pro Tem Darrell Steinberg, Assembly Republican Leader Connie Conway, Senate Republican Leader Bob Huff, and especially Senate President pro Tem-elect Kevin de León for his commitment to achieving the best possible version of the bill.”   

About the California Film and Television Production Alliance

The members of the California Film and Television Production Alliance include: Academy of Television Arts & Sciences; American Federation of Musicians Local 47; Association of Talent Agents; California Attractions and Parks Association; California Chamber of Commerce; California Lodging and Hotel Association; California Labor Federation; California Teamsters Public Affairs Council; California Travel Association; Chef Robért Catering; Directors Guild of America; FilmL.A.; FLICS – Film Liaisons in California Statewide; Independent Studio Services; International Alliance of Theatrical Stage Employees; International Brotherhood of Teamsters, Local 399; Laborers’ International Union of North America, Local 724; Motion Picture Association of America, Inc.; National Association of Theatre Owners of California/Nevada; Producers Guild of America; Quixote Studios; Recording Musicians Association; Recording Industry Association of America; SAG-AFTRA; and Writers Guild of America, West.

# # #

Lily Bedrossian -
Executive in Charge of Public Relations
(310) 289-5334