Garry W. Hood: 2022 Franklin J. Schaffner Achievement Award Recipient

Garry Hood

January 20, 2022

Stage Manager Garry W. Hood will become the 31st recipient of the Franklin J. Schaffner Achievement Award, which will be presented at the DGA Awards ceremony in March. The Schaffner Award is given to an Associate Director or Stage Manager in recognition of their service to the industry and the Guild.

See video of Garry W. Hood's speech below.

With more than 500 credits on his resume and 40 years in the business as a Stage Manager, Garry Hood got his start on the Nashville television production of the musical-variety show Hee-Haw. He would go on to work on award shows such as the Academy Awards, the Grammys, Emmys and Tony’s; live specials like the DGA Award-nominated productions of Grease Live! and Hairspray Live!; variety programs ranging from the Opening and Closing Ceremonies of the Olympics to Presidential Inaugurals; and series work including Dancing with the Stars and American Idol. He has worked on eleven DGA Award-winning productions including The 1997 Kennedy Center Honors: A Celebration of the Performing Arts and The 60th Annual Grammy Awards directed by Louis J. Horvitz; The 61st, 64th, 66th, 67th, 68th and 70th Annual Tony Awards directed by Glenn Weiss; The 52nd Annual Tony Awards directed by Paul Miller; Great Performances “Centennial Olympic Games: Opening Ceremonies” directed by Don Mischer; and Barbra: The Concert directed by Dwight Hemion. He has also worked alongside such legendary Directors as Walter Miller, Marty Pasetta, George Stevens Jr., Delbert Mann, and Gilbert Cates.

After joining the DGA in 1978, Hood was first elected as a member of the Eastern AD/SM/PA Council in 2001 and would go on to serve eight terms on the Council, including being elected to the offices of Secretary/Treasurer; Vice Chairperson and 2nd Vice Chairperson. Hood has served on five DGA Negotiations Committees from 2002-2020, and currently serves on the Eastern AD/SM/PA Council’s Waiver Committee, Bi-Coastal Committee and Title Change Committee; and more recently as a member of the DGA’s COVID-19 Return to Work Committee.

Asked how he feels about being chosen by his peers to receive such a prestigious acknowledgement for his years of service and professional accomplishments, Hood replied, “What an unbelievable honor to be included in the long list of previous recipients of the Franklin J. Schaffner Award. It’s always been important to me to give back to the Guild to help continue and build on the fine traditions of this amazing institution that does so much for its members and the industry.”

Garry W. Hood accepts the 2022 Frank Capra Achievement Award

Past recipients of the Franklin J. Schaffner Achievement Award:
  • Joyce Thomas (2021)
  • Arthur E. Lewis (2020)
  • Mimi (Marian) Deaton (2019)
  • Jim Tanker (2018)
  • Tom McDermott (2016)
  • Julie Gelfand (2015)
  • Vince DeDario (2014)
  • Dency Nelson (2013)
  • Dennis W. Mazzocco (2012)
  • Maria Jimenez Henley (2010)
  • Scott Berger (2009)
  • Barbara J. Roche (2008)
  • Terry Benson (2007)
  • Donald E. Jacob (2006)
  • Stanley Faer (2005)
  • Peery Forbis (2004) 
  • Eperanza “Candy” Martinez (2003)
  • Anita Cooper-Avrick (2002)
  • Robert N. Van Ry (2001)
  • Scott L. Rindenow (2000)
  • Robert Caminiti (1999)
  • C.J. Rapp-Pittman (1998)
  • Joseph L. Dicso (1997)
  • Don Lewis Barnhart (1996)
  • Larry Carl (1995)
  • James E. Wall (1994)
  • James “Woody” Woodworth (1993)
  • Marilyn Jacobs-Furey (1992)
  • Chester O’Brien (1991)
  • Mortimer O’Brien (1991)