Meet the Nominees: Feature Film Symposium

February 7, 2015
The 24th annual Meet The Nominees: Feature Film Symposium was held on Saturday morning, February 7, 2015. All five nominees, Directors Alejandro G. Iñárritu (Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)), Wes Anderson (The Grand Budapest Hotel), Clint Eastwood (American Sniper), Richard Linklater (Boyhood) and Morten Tyldum (The Imitation Game) joined moderator Jeremy Kagan onstage before a packed crowd in the Directors Guild’s Los Angeles Theater One.

DGA President Paris Barclay kicked off the event welcoming the audience and expressed his own excitement for what was to come. “For us directors and our teams, its particularly a unique opportunity to hear from our fellow filmmakers those inside stories that each of the nominees covets about how they took some risks and broke some rules, and brought their films to life.”

As the directors took the stage after screening a clip from each film, Kagan noted how, “This year is in a way different than years before because the five films are such different genres and different expressions. But at the same time, they represent the diversity that can be expressed in our craft.” Kagan instead linked the films together through examining the directing process and personal stories behind making the nominated films.

Below find a photo gallery and video highlights from each of the directors, as well as the full event recording.
Meet the Nominees: Feature Film Symposium:
  • Directed by: Jim Drake
  • Stage Manager: Tracey Smith Baumert
Pictures & Video

photos by Byron Gamarro & Alberto Rodriguez

< >
Log in as a Member to see upcoming events, screenings, and meetings.