DGA Student Film Awards


For more than two decades, the DGA Student Film Awards have spotlighted dozens of African American, Asian American, Latino and Women filmmakers. Winners of the DGA Student Film Awards in each category will receive a $2,500 prize from the DGA.


All submissions must be submitted by Monday, October 7, 2024 at 5:00 pm PDT. 


27th Annual DGA Student Film Awards Winners

Best African American Student Filmmakers:

East Region

  • Award Winner: Sarah Gambles of Florida State University – Fairydust
  • Jury Award: Yasmeen Purvis of City University of New York – Who Was Lee Edwards?

West Region

  • Award Winner: Omar S. Kamara of AFI – Mass Ave.
  • Jury Award: De’Onna “Tree” Young-Stephens of USC – Not Just a Name

Best Asian American Student Filmmakers:

East Region

  • Award Winner: Bohao Liu of NYU – Eagles Rest in Liangshan
  • Jury Award: Justin Li of Ithaca College – Moments Fleeting

West Region

  • Award Winner: Jun Hee Han of UCLA – Uncle
  • Jury Award: Sining Xiang of UCLA – Foreign Uncle

Best Latino Student Filmmakers

East Region

  • Award Winner: Mackenzie Rosario of Southern Illinois University at Carbondale – Forward Journey

West Region

  • Award Winner: Jorge G. Camarena of AFI – Spaceship
  • Jury Award: Joe Perry of USC – Niño de Nadie

Best Women Student Filmmakers:

East Region

  • Award Winner: Lamu Shangchoo of School of Visual Arts – Walk Alone
  • Jury Award: Chloe Sarbib of Columbia University – Jensen

West Region

  • Award Winner: Kay Niuyue Zhang of USC – Mother in the Mist
  • Jury Award: Afton Quast Saler of USC – Neurodivergent

The DGA Student Film Awards have highlighted dozens of African American, Asian American, Latino and Women filmmakers over the years. A number of past winners have gone on to enjoy successful directing careers, including:

  • Steven Caple Jr. (Creed II; Grown-ish; Rapture; The Land)
  • Jon M. Chu (In the Heights; Home Before Dark; Crazy Rich Asians; Now You See Me 2)
  • Ryan Coogler (Black Panther; Creed; Fruitvale Station)
  • Nicole Kassell (Watchmen; Castlerock; Westworld; The Americans)
  • Patricia Riggen (Dopesick; Surveillance; Tom Clancy’s Jack Ryan; Miracles From Heaven)
  • Sylvain White (The Rookie; Fargo; The Umbrella Academy; Amazing Stories)

Eligible films were made in the 2020/2021 school year (September 2020 through August 2021), and produced as a student project under the supervision of a faculty member – with students holding every major crew position. Dramas, comedies and documentaries are all eligible – animated and experimental films are not eligible. Applicants must be enrolled in, or be a recent (one-year) graduate from, an accredited post-secondary institution located in the United States.