23rd Annual DGA Student Film Awards

Mission Statement: The Directors Guild of America Student Film Awards for African-American, Asian-American, Latino, and Women Directors are designed to honor, encourage, and bring attention to outstanding minority and women directors in DGA selected film schools in the Eastern and Western regions. The awards bring prizes of $2,500 to the winners in each category and $1,000 to Jury Award winners, in both regions. Awards ceremonies will be held at DGA headquarters in Los Angeles and New York on dates to be determined.

All submissions must be submitted by Friday, October 6, 2017.


Please read the eligibility requirements below. Once you check the box at the bottom of the page acknowledging your agreement to abide by all entry rules, you may begin the application.

  1. Eligible student films are those in which a student holds every major crew position.

  2. Competing films must have been completed in the 2016 / 2017 school year (September 2016 through August 2017).

  3. Applicants must be enrolled in or be a recent graduate (within one year) from an accredited post-secondary institution located in the United States and selected by the DGA.

  4. Applicants must be the Director of the film. No co-director applicants.

  5. Only films or videos produced as a student project under the supervision of a faculty member are eligible.

  6. Eligible films are dramas, comedies and documentaries. Animated films, experimental films, commercials and music videos are not eligible. No more than 30% of stock footage may be used in documentary films. All music rights must be obtained prior to submission.

  7. Students may submit more than one film, but may not submit the same film to more than one category (African-American, Asian-American, Latino or Women). For example, a woman of color may submit a film to either an ethnic minority category or the women’s category or submit films to both categories as long as it is not the same film. If you are submitting two different films, please note you will need to submit a separate application form for each.

  8. Applicants must submit a streaming URL link (for example: Vimeo, YouTube, etc.) where their video is hosted for the judges to review. If the link is password-protected, you must submit the viewing password.

  9. Entries should be no longer than 45 minutes in length.

  10. Winners must submit their same completed film in its final format for screening at the Awards ceremony.

Ruby Sindher
Manager, Committee Events
(310) 289-2057