DGA Student Film Awards


Each year the Directors Guild of America holds its annual Student Film Awards for African-American, Asian-American, Latino, and women filmmakers. The awards, which bring the winners prizes of $2,500 from the DGA, are designed to honor, encourage, and bring attention to outstanding minority and women film students in film schools and other select universities.

You can browse through a year by year history of the DGA Student Film Awards by clicking on the timeline below to view winners and photos.


2017 Student Film Award Winners

23rd Annual DGA Student Film Awards in Los Angeles

Best African American Student Filmmakers:

West Region

  • Award Winner: Sanford Jenkins of USC for A Craftsman
  • Jury Award: Lane Lyle of Chapman University for Distress

East Region

  • Award Winner: Kevin Wilson, Jr. of New York University for My Nephew Emmett
  • Jury Award: Alcee H. Walker of The New School for Child Support
Best Asian American Student Filmmakers:

West Region

  • Award Winner: Mei LiYing of USC for Cocoon
  • Jury Award: Michael Chan of AFI for Marc Chung Protects His Address

East Region

  • Award Winner: Sudarshan Suresh of Columbia University for Absent
Best Latino Student Filmmakers:

West Region

  • Award Winner: Annie Pace of UCLA for Beyond the Gate
  • Jury Award: Meedo Taha of UCLA for The Incident

East Region

  • Award Winner: Suzanne Andrews Correa of Columbia University for La Casa de Beatriz
  • Jury Award: Sebastián Pinzón Silva of Northwestern University for Palenque
Best Women Student Filmmakers:

West Region

  • Award Winner: Gisele Tong of USC for Spring Flower
  • Jury Award: Amanda Renee Knox of Chapman University for Night Call

East Region

  • Award Winner: Raylene Jin of Columbia University for SHUAI

photo by Shane Karns

Click here for more photos from the Los Angeles ceremony and reception.

Click here for more photos from the New York ceremony and reception.

Brandon Goco
Manager, Committee Events
For more information please email:
DGA Student Film Awards - Eligible Schools

Click here to review the list of schools eligible for the 2019 Awards.