DGA Student Film Awards


26th Annual DGA Student Film Awards Winners

Best African American Student Filmmakers

East Region

  • Award Winner: Natalie Jasmine Harris of New York University — Pure
  • Jury Award: Tramaine Raphael Gray of University of North Carolina School of the Arts — Kindred Kings

West Region

  • Award Winner: Allison A. Waite of University of Southern California — The Dope Years: The Story of Latasha Harlins
  • Jury Award: Dagmawi Abebe of University of Southern California — The Ball Method

Best Asian American Student Filmmakers

East Region

  • Award Winner: Karishma Dev Dube of New York University — Bittu
  • Jury Award: Constance Tsang of Columbia University — Beau

West Region

  • Award Winner: Olivia Hang Zhou of American Film Institute — Apart, Together
  • Jury Award: Shuang Li of University of California, Berkeley — The Long Wait

Best Latino Student Filmmakers

East Region

  • Award Winner: Esteban Garcia Vernaza of Columbia University — Silento
  • Jury Award: Mariana Saffon of Columbia University — Entre tú y Milagros

West Region

  • Award Winner: Felipe Vargas of University of Southern California — Milk Teeth
  • Jury Award: Tiffany Kontoyiannis-Guillen of University of Southern California — Welcome Back

Best Women Student Filmmakers

East Region

  • Award Winner: Shae Xu of Columbia University — Duet
  • Jury Award: Alice Aguiar of Savannah College of Art and Design — Windchimes

West Region

  • Award Winner: Kathryn Boyd-Batstone of University of Southern California — For Rosa
  • Jury Prize: Star Victoria of University of Southern California — La Ruta

The DGA Student Film Awards have highlighted dozens of African American, Asian American, Latino and Women filmmakers over the years. A number of past winners have gone on to enjoy successful directing careers, including:

  • Steven Caple Jr. (Creed II; Grown-ish; Rapture; The Land)
  • Jon M. Chu (In the Heights; Now You See Me 2; Crazy Rich Asians; Home Before Dark)
  • Ryan Coogler (Black Panther; Creed; Fruitvale Station)
  • Nicole Kassell (Watchmen; Castlerock; Westworld; The Americans)
  • Patricia Riggen (Surveillance; The 33; Miracles From Heaven; Tom Clancy’s Jack Ryan)
  • Sylvain White (The Rookie; Fargo; The Umbrella Academy; Amazing Stories)

The winners were chosen by blue ribbon panels. Eligible films were made in the 2019/2020 school year (September 2019 through August 2020), and produced as a student project under the supervision of a faculty member – with students holding every major crew position. Dramas, comedies and documentaries are all eligible – animated and experimental films are not eligible. Applicants must be enrolled in, or be a recent (one-year) graduate from, an accredited post-secondary institution located in the United States and selected by the DGA.

1995 Student Film Award Winners

Patricia Cardoso

Catherine Doherty

Martin Gonzalez

Nicole Jefferson

Carol Mayes

Ana Rosa Ramos

Debbi Reynolds

Jennifer Rothman

Brandon Goco
Manager, Committee Events
For more information please email:
DGA Student Film Awards - Eligible Schools

Click here to review the list of schools eligible for the 2020 Awards.