DGA Congratulates Our Members With Films Added to the National Film Registry

National Film Registry

December 14, 2022

LOS ANGELES – On December 14, Librarian of Congress Carla Hayden announced the annual selection of motion pictures to be inducted into the National Film Registry of the Library of Congress.

“Films have become absolutely central to American culture by helping tell our national story for more than 125 years,” said Hayden. “We are proud to add 25 more films by a group of vibrant and diverse filmmakers to the National Film Registry as we preserve our cinematic heritage. We’re grateful to the entire film community for collaborating with the Library of Congress to ensure these films are preserved for the future.”

Among the 25 influential films selected for the 2022 National Film Registry were the following directed by DGA Members:

(In chronological order)

  • Cyrano de Bergerac (1950) directed by Michael Gordon
  • Charade (1963 directed by Stanley Donen
  • Super Fly (1972) directed by Gordon Parks Jr.
  • Carrie (1976) directed by Brian De Palma
  • Word is Out: Stories of Our Lives (1977) directed by Nancy Adair*, Andrew Brown* & Rob Epstein
  • The Ballad of Gregorio Cortez (1982) directed by Robert M. Young
  • Hairspray (1988) directed by John Waters
  • When Harry Met Sally (1989) directed by Rob Reiner
  • House Party (1990) directed by Reginald Hudlin
  • Iron Man (2008) directed by Jon Favreau
  • Pariah (2011) directed by Dee Rees

*Non-member who directed a film with a DGA member.

Under the terms of the National Film Preservation Act, each year the Librarian of Congress names to the National Film Registry 25 motion pictures that are “culturally, historically or aesthetically” significant. The films must be at least 10 years old. The Librarian makes the annual registry selections after conferring with the distinguished members of the National Film Preservation Board — which includes on behalf of the DGA, Directors Martin Scorsese as a board member and Christopher Nolan as an alternate — and a cadre of Library specialists. Also considered were 6,865 titles nominated by the public. Nominations for next year will be accepted through Aug. 15, 2023, at loc.gov/programs/national-film-preservation-board/film-registry/nominate/.

DGA Communications Department (310) 289-5333