Emcee and Presenters Set for 52nd Annual DGA Awards: Francis Ford Coppola, Academy Award Nominees Top List

DGA Quarterly Winter 2006 Funny Business Carl Reiner

March 6, 2000

Carl Reiner will serve as Master of Ceremonies and Francis Ford Coppola will present the Directors Guild of America’s Lifetime Achievement Award to Steven Spielberg at the 52nd Annual DGA Awards, DGA President Jack Shea and Awards Committee Chairperson Howard Storm announced today. Coppola, who has won two DGA Awards (for The Godfather and The Godfather, Part II) and an Academy Award (for The Godfather, Part II) received the Guild’s Lifetime Achievement Award in 1998.

Among the presenters at the 52nd Annual DGA Awards are this year’s Academy Award nominees Annette Bening (American Beauty), Michael Clarke Duncan (The Green Mile), Russell Crowe (The Insider), Richard Farnsworth (The Straight Story), Haley Joel Osment (The Sixth Sense) and Chloë Sevigny (Boys Don’t Cry).

Other presenters include Lorraine Bracco (The Sopranos), Martha Coolidge (Introducing Dorothy Dandridge), Ted Danson (Becker), Cameron Diaz (Being John Malkovich), Tobey Maguire (The Cider House Rules), Cheech Marin (Nash Bridges), Don Ohlmeyer (former NBC West Coast President), David Hyde Pierce (Frasier), Martin Sheen (Apocalypse Now), Tritia Toyota (KCBS Anchorwoman) and Blair Underwood (City of Angels).

The 52nd Annual DGA Awards will be held on Saturday, March 11, 2000 at the Century Plaza Hotel in Los Angeles.

DGA Communications Department (310) 289-5333