Martha Coolidge to Receive DGA's Robert B. Aldrich Award

1999 DGA Awards Movies for Television and Mini Series Martha Coolidge

March 5, 1998

Martha Coolidge, DGA First Vice President and feature and television director, will be the recipient of the Directors Guild of America's 1998 Robert B. Aldrich Achievement Award, DGA President Jack Shea and Awards Committee Chairperson Howard Storm announced today. The Aldrich Award, given for extraordinary service to the Directors Guild of America and to its membership, will be presented to Coolidge at the 50th anniversary DGA Awards on March 7, 1998.

"The strength of the Directors Guild within our industry is a reflection of the selfless dedication of the unique and talented men and women who have comprised our membership over many decades," said DGA President Shea. "Martha Coolidge has consistently demonstrated that special brand of service to the DGA and is a most deserving recipient of the Guild's highest service award."

Coolidge has served on the Guild's Western Directors Council since 1984, and became an Alternate to the National Board in 1989, serving in that position until 1991. In June 1991 she was elected a National Board member, remaining in that capacity until her election as Third Vice President in June 1993. In June 1995 she was elected First Vice President of the DGA, and was reelected to that office in June of 1997.

Coolidge became Chair of the DGA's Creative Rights Committee in 1992, and has been Co-Chair of that committee along with John Frankenheimer since 1996. She has also served as Co-Chair of the DGA's Presidents Committee and played a key role in the establishment of the Artists Rights Foundation.

Coolidge's directing career includes the films Valley Girl, Real Genius, Rambling Rose, Lost in Yonkers, Angie, Three Wishes and Out to Sea. Under her Ozma Productions banner, she is currently directing and producing a pilot called Joy Street Station (co-created with Joel Blasberg) for UPN, through her production deal with Pearson All-American Television.

The Robert B. Aldrich Award was established in 1984 to recognize extraordinary service to the Directors Guild of America and to its membership. Robert Aldrich served as DGA President from 1975-1979. Past recipients include Delbert Mann, Daniel Petrie, Max Schindler, Burt Bluestein, Gene Reynolds, John Rich, Jack Shea, Larry Auerbach, Milt Felsen, George Schaefer, Gilbert Cates, Sheldon Leonard, George Sidney, Elliot Silverstein and Robert Wise.

DGA Communications Department (310) 289-5333