MTNs Reality TV

Meet the Nominees: Reality Programs

February 8, 2023 75th Annual DGA Awards

The DGA Award Nominees for Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Reality Programs and members of their teams celebrated the achievements of their genre during an event in the DGA Los Angeles headquarters atrium on February 8. Following introductory comments from DGA Associate Western Executive Director Lisa Layer and Reality Television Committee Co-Chairs Bryan O’Donnell and J. Rupert Thompson, clips from the nominated works were screened. Then nominees Joseph H. Guidry (The Big Brunch, “Carb Loading Brunch”); Carrie Havel (The Go-Big Show, “Only One Can Win”); Rich Kim (Lego Masters, “Jurass-brick World”); Michael Shea (FBoy Island, “Do You Like Cats?”) and Ben Simms (Running Wild with Bear Grylls, “Florence Pugh in the Volcanic Rainforests of Costa Rica”) spoke briefly about their projects. Afterward the attendees enjoyed a cocktail reception.

The winner will be unveiled at the 75th Annual DGA Awards ceremony on Saturday, February 8, 2023.

See video from this event in the gallery below.

About the DGA Reality Television Committee

Formed in 2003, the Reality Television Committee seeks to address areas of concern that apply to directors and director’s team members working in this genre, and promote the DGA’s Reality Television Agreements so that members working on these shows may continue to enjoy Guild protections and benefits. The current co-chairs are Directors Bryan O'Donnell and J. Rupert Thompson and Stage Manager David Charles.

< >
Log in as a Member to see upcoming events, screenings, and meetings.