ST Beyond

Director Justin Lin discusses Star Trek Beyond: a London Coordinating Committee Event

July 11, 2016 A DGA Q&A in London

The intrepid crew of the starship Enterprise continues to go where no one has gone before in Director Justin Lin’s new sci-fi epic, Star Trek Beyond.

Lin’s latest feature finds Kirk, Spock and the rest of the Enterprise crew halfway into their five-year mission of exploring uncharted space when they are attacked by hostile aliens and forced to abandon ship. Stranded on an unknown planet with no apparent means of rescue or communicating with home, they must find a way to deal with a new ruthless enemy.

Following the special DGA membership screening in London on July 11, Lin sat down with Director James Kent (Testament of Youth), to discuss the making of Star Trek Beyond. The event was sponsored by the DGA London Coordinating Committee, which also hosted a reception following the Q&A. Lin also participated in a Q&A in Los Angeles on July 31, moderated by Director Joe Russo (Captain America: Civil War) and hosted by the DGA Asian American Committee.

In 2002 Justin Lin made his feature directorial debut with Better Luck Tomorrow, which was nominated for a Grand Jury Prize at the Sundance Film Festival. In addition to Star Trek Beyond, Lin’s other works include the features Annapolis, The Fast and the Furious: Tokyo Drift, Finishing the Game, Fast & Furious 6; the documentary Crossover; the pilot for the series Scorpion; and episodes of Community and True Detective. He has been a DGA member since 2004.

About the London Coordinating Committee:

The London Coordinating Committee (LCC) was established in 2007 by the DGA National Board, which recognized the need to create a coordinating committee in the same way it already has with similarly sized populations of Guild members in San Francisco and Chicago. Alongside Co-Chairs Michael Caton-Jones and Jim Gillespie, the LCC’s members include Directors SJ Clarkson, Coky Giedroyc, Tom Hooper, Richard Loncraine, Roger H. Michell, Mike Newell, Chris J. Newman, Jim Sheridan, Matthew Vaughn, Richard Whelan, Susanna White, Stephen Woolfenden, and David Yates.


Event photos by Hugo Philpott  - print courtesy of Paramount Pictures

< >
Log in as a Member to see upcoming events, screenings, and meetings.