Episodic Directors Attend Orientation Courses on Professional Standards


January 23, 2023

In 2017, the DGA held its inaugural Orientation Course on Professional Standards for Episodic Television Directors.  The orientation was codified in the 2017 Basic Agreement to support first-time episodic television directors by providing training for them on the role, responsibilities and obligations of directors. Since the launch of the program in July of 2017, the Guild has conducted these courses at Guild Headquarters in Los Angeles and New York.

The instructors have included the following directors:

  • DGA President Lesli Linka Glatter (Homeland,Love and Death)
  • DGA Past President Paris Barclay (Station 19, Sons of Anarchy)
  • DGA Past President Thomas Schlamme (Under the Banner of Heaven/em>, The Plot Against America)
  • Past National Vice President Vincent Misiano (Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D., Chicago Med)
  • Fifth Vice President Bethany Rooney (Criminal Minds, MacGyver)
  • Rebecca Asher (American Housewife, Grace and Frankie)
  • Daniel Attias (Homeland, Snowfall)
  • Norberto Barba (GrimmLaw & Order: Special Victims Unit)
  • Andrew Bernstein (The Nevers, Ozark)
  • Stacey K. Black (Station 19, Walker)
  • Tessa Blake (The Blacklist, iZombie)
  • Mary Lou Belli (NCIS: New Orleans, Devious Maids)
  • Brad Buecker (American Horror Story, 9-1-1)
  • Mark Cendrowski (The Big Bang Theory, Young Sheldon)
  • John Coles (The Sinner, Berlin Station)
  • Anton Cropper (Black-ish, Suits)
  • DeMane Davis (Station 19, How to Get Away With Murder)
  • Roxann Dawson (The Americans, The Chi)
  • Kevin Dowling (The Americans, The Strain)
  • Jody Margolin Hahn (Bunk'd, The Conners)
  • Joanna Kerns (High School Musical: The Musical - The Series, Why Women Kill)
  • John T. Kretchmer (Riverdale, Walker)
  • Nelson McCormick (Homeland, Prison Break)
  • Meera Menon (Westworld, Ms. Marvel)
  • Martha Mitchell (Blindspot, Chicago Justice)
  • Edward Ornelas (NCIS: New Orleans, The Resident)
  • Matthew Penn (Big Dogs, Queen of the South)
  • Michael Pressman (Law & Order: Special Victims Unit, Chicago Med)
  • Keith Powell (Anne Rice's Interview with the Vampire, Big Sky)
  • Michael Robin (Major Crimes, Valor)
  • David Rodriguez (Animal Kingdom, Power)
  • Daniel Sackheim (True Detective, Game of Thrones)
  • Fred Savage (Modern Family, Fresh Off the Boat)
  • Eric Dean Seaton (Greenleaf, Supergirl)
  • Marcos Siega (God Friended Me, Batwoman)
  • Michael Slovis (New Amsterdam, Preacher)
  • Michael Spiller (The Mindy Project, Black-ish)
  • Eric Stoltz (Madam Secretary, How to Get Away with Murder)
  • Mark Tinker (Private Practice, Chicago P.D.
  • Anu Valia (She-Hulk, And Just Like That...)
  • Tom Verica (For the People, Scandal)
  • Valerie Weiss (Star Trek: Strange New Worlds, Outer Banks)
  • Ken Whittingham (Grace and Frankie, Life in Pieces)
  • Andy Wolk (Girlfriends’ Guide to Divorce, Unforgettable)

In each course, the participants also learned about the standards of the craft, their creative rights as directors, the Guild resources that are available to them, and are instructed about the best practices of some of the top directors working today in order to provide them with an outline of a comprehensive set of requirements needed to succeed.