SFCC Elects New Officers & Executive Committee


May 17, 2017

At the May 2017 meeting, the DGA San Francisco Coordinating Committee (SFCC) members re-elected 2nd AD John M. Morse to continue serving as Committee Chair, Director Frank Zamacona as Vice Chair, UPM Michael D. Jones as Secretary and 2nd AD Jerremy Stewart as Treasurer. Members of the SFCC Executive Committee were previously elected at the SFCC Annual Membership Meeting in April 2017.

  • Newly elected at 2017 Annual Membership Meeting: Mike Doto, Michael Jones (Current Secretary), Amyn Kaderali, John Morse (Current Chair) and Jani Vournas. 
  • Continuing to Serve through 2018: Rachel Carponi, Ted Leonard, Jerremy Stewart (Current Treasurer) and Frank Zamacona (Current Vice-Chair). 

John MorseJohn M. Morse
A graduate of the University of Vermont, Morse found himself drawn to assistant directing after becoming fascinated with the job on Francis Ford Coppola’s feature Tucker: The Man and His Dream where he was working as a background actor. After completing the DGA-Producer Assistant Directors Training Program, he went on to build an impressive career as an AD on features such as Blue Jasmine, Rent, Edtv, The Matrix Reloaded, Smokin' Aces, Twister, and Wayne's World 2; and episodic television series such as Revolution, Trauma, Parenthood and Nash Bridges. Representing his fellow DGA members, Morse spoke at the June 14, 2014 California Film and Television Production Alliance rally held in support of AB 1839, the California Film and Television Job Retention and Promotion Act. Morse has been a DGA member since 1993.


Frank ZamaconaFrank Zamacona
A graduate of San Francisco State University, Zamacona has has worked in television as a director/producer for over two decades, producing and directing over 100 entertainment specials and series distributed by PBS, The Discovery Channel, ABC, HGTV, Link TV, in-syndication and theatrically. His directorial credits include the televised opera productions Aida, Don Giovanni, Lucrezia Borgia, Mefistofele, Moby-Dick, Otello, Samson and Delilah, and The Gershwin's 'Porgy and Bess;' as well as the movie for television Hello Columbus. Zamacona has been a DGA member since 1982.


Michael D. JonesMichael D. Jones
Jones’s resume includes working as a UPM on Peter Winther's Painkillers, Stephen Belber's Management, Scott Glosserman's Behind the Mask: The Rise of Leslie Vernon, Jane Beaumont Hall's The Legend of Tillamook's Gold, Nick Lyon's Punk Love and Al Corley's Bigger Than the Sky; as well as the television series Ask Rita. Jones has been a DGA member since 2007.

Jerremy StewartJerremy Stewart
Stewart has worked as an Assistant Director on feature films including Marielle Heller's The Diary of a Teenage Girl, Ryan Coogler's Fruitvale Station, and Brad Peyton's San Andreas; movies for television including Andrew Haigh's Looking: The Movie; and episodes of the television series Chance, Murder in the First, Parks and Recreation, and Sense8. Stewart joined the Guild in 2014..

About the Committee:

The San Francisco Coordinating Committee was formed in 1978 to coordinate Guild activities in the Bay Area. The Committee hosts a number of educational presentations and networking events during the year, in order to fulfill its objectives of facilitating the exchange of ideas, maintaining contacts with other guilds and unions, and furthering professional opportunities for all Northern California DGA members.