Documentary Entry Form

The DGA Awards is our annual opportunity to celebrate outstanding directorial achievement and we welcome your entry. All Documentary entries that conform to the entry criteria will be placed on the DGA Awards Documentary Nomination Ballot.

Except as otherwise indicated, this Awards category is open to both DGA and non-DGA Documentary directors. Please read the following eligibility criteria carefully.

You must agree to these rules at the bottom of the page in order to go to the Entry Form.

Feature Documentaries:
  1. Documentary Feature Films that had a traditional commercial theatrical release or seven (7) day qualifying run in a United States based commercial theater during the period of January 1 – December 31, 2022 and meet eligibility requirements will be eligible for submission and included on the DGA Awards Documentary Nomination Ballot. Documentaries that were exhibited theatrically and simultaneously released on video-on-demand (pay-per-view or streaming) on a national platform during the period of January 1 – December 31, 2022 are eligible.
Television Documentaries:
  1. Documentaries that have been broadcast nationally on U.S. television during the period of January 1, 2022 through December 31, 2022 are eligible.

  2. Documentaries produced for streaming services are eligible, however, they must be DGA-covered under a DGA Agreement.

  3. Documentaries that are only broadcast locally on television are not eligible.
All Documentary Entries:
  1. Documentaries exhibited prior to 2022 are not eligible.

  2. A Director or Co-Director may enter only one program in this category.

  3. Length: Entries in this category must be 40 minutes or more in length.

  4. International Submissions: Foreign/International documentaries are eligible for submission provided they meet the entry criteria. Non English-language submissions must be subtitled in English.

  5. Credit: The Director or Co-Directors must have exercised all traditional directorial functions in connection with original photography and/or narration and received an on-screen "Directed By" credit. "A Film By" is not considered an eligible directorial credit.

  6. The Director must submit a completed DGA Awards online entry form. A confirmation e-mail will be sent upon receipt of the entry form. Entries are accepted only from the Director or Co-Directors of the documentary.

  7. Entry Link: The Director must provide a secure, password protected HD link of the Documentary, with start and end credits including the "Directed By" credit -- "A Film By" is not considered an eligible directorial credit. A watermark may be included provided it does not obscure the entry. The link must go directly to the entry and should not require additional information to access it beyond the password. This link will be forwarded to the members of the DGA Awards Documentary Screening Committee and must remain active for the duration of Awards, ending on Friday, February 17, 2023.
Entry Deadline:
  • For eligible Documentaries with a theatrical release or broadcast during the period of January 1, 2022 through December 31, 2022, the deadline is: MONDAY, OCTOBER 17, 2022 by 6:00 PM PDT.
Judging Process:
  • All eligible Documentary entries will be viewed by a Director Member Documentary Screening Committee that votes by secret ballot. The five entries that receive the highest number of votes will be announced as the 2022 DGA Documentary Director Nominees on Tuesday, January 10, 2023. The Documentary Screening Committee will then vote by secret ballot to select the winner of the 2022 DGA Documentary Directorial Award. The winner will be announced at the 75th Annual DGA Awards Dinner on Saturday, February 18, 2023.

Should you have any questions, please contact the Awards Administrator Maggie Holmes in the DGA Awards office at or (310) 289-2038.


For questions about eligibility or Awards process:

DGA Awards Office
(310) 289-2038

For assistance with this form:

DGA Web Support (Monday - Friday, 9:00AM - 6:00PM PT)
(310) 289-2082