DGA Student Film Awards

The submission period for the 22nd Annual
DGA Student Film Awards is now closed.

The West Region winners are listed below.
The East Region winners will be announced in December.

Each year the Directors Guild of America holds its annual Student Film Awards for African-American, Asian-American, Latino, and women filmmakers. The awards, which bring the winners prizes of $2,500 from the DGA, are designed to honor, encourage, and bring attention to outstanding minority and women film students in film schools and other select universities.

You can browse through a year by year history of the DGA Student Film Awards by clicking on the timeline below to view winners and photos.


2016 Student Film Award Winners

WC Student Film Awards 2016

African American

West Region Winner

Jackson Young of AFI for Trouble Man

West Region Jury Award

Rachel Bass of Chapman University for Black Magic

Asian American

West Region Winner

Auden Bui of USC for The Lost City of Tomorrow

West Region Jury Award

Yizhou Xu of Art Center College of Design for Shop of Eternal Life


West Region Winner

Juan Martinez Vera of USC for SPARK

West Region Jury Award

Santiago Paladines of AFI for The Fare


West Region Winner

Kelly Pike of UCLA for Owen

West Region Jury Award

Mia Niebruegge of AFI for Snowplow

photo by Shane Karns

Click here for more photos from the Los Angeles ceremony and reception.

Ruby Sindher
Manager, Committee Events
(310) 289-2057
Download the PDF below to review the list of schools eligible for the 2016 Awards.